Often on a hit-or-miss basis, junior hockey was played in a variety of locations in Newfoundland and Labrador, during different periods of time, prior to the first provincial championship in 1953. This level of hockey enjoyed various degrees of success.
Teams from St. John's own the most wins on the Trophy with 14 victories. Grand Falls won the Trophy seven times, while Gander has five titles. Bell Island has three Trophy wins. Corner Brook emerged as winners twice, with Buchans, Deer Lake and Mount Pearl each having one victory.
Interspersed within the history of the Trophy are 14 seasons with "no competition". There was a run of "no competition" for seven seasons between 1988 and 1994.
The championship Veitch Memorial Trophy was actually presented to the Newfoundland Amateur Hockey Association by the Buchans Social and Athletic Club in 1951 in memory of three Veitch brothers.
Originally, the Trophy remembered Cyril Veitch, a St. John's native who served on the NAHA executive, was a great hockey enthusiast and died in December 1949. Later John Veitch, another Buchans player, was added to the Trophy and even later, the name of Phillip Veitch, who also played hockey for Buchans, was also added to the Trophy.
For two seasons, the Joe Byrne Trophy was awarded to the provincial junior B champions. The Grand Falls Cataracts took the Byrne Trophy in 1991 and the St. John's Junior 50's took the Byrne Trophy in 1992. It should be noted there was no junior A competition in both years.